Nov 5 2010

Update: Bruce Springsteen & Ray Davies „See My Friends“

Bruce Springsteen besuchte den ehemaligen Kinks Sänger Ray Davies im Januar 2010 im Studio, um den Song „Better Things“ einzuspielen (wir berichteten hier).
Am 5. November ist nun Ray Davies neues Studioalbum „See My Friends“ offiziell in Deutschland erschienen.
Auf der CD findet man nicht nur „Better Things“, sondern auch noch 14 andere Tracks, die Ray Davies mit bekannten Musikgrössten aufgenommen hat. Neben Bruce Springsteen beteiligten sich ausserdem Jon Bon Jovi, Richie Sambora, Metallica, Jackson Browne, Mando Diao, Amy Macdonald, Billy Corgan und viele andere an diesem Projekt.


  1. Better Things – Ray Davies & Bruce Springsteen
  2. Celluloid Heroes – Ray Davies, Jon Bon Jovi & Richie Sambora
  3. Days/This Time Tomorrow – Ray Davies & Mumford & Sons
  4. Long Way From Home – Ray Davies, Lucinda Williams & The 88
  5. You Really Got Me – Ray Davies & Metallica
  6. Lola – Ray Davies & Paloma Faith
  7. Waterloo Sunset – Ray Davies & Jackson Browne
  8. ‚Til The End of The Day – Ray Davies, Alex Chilton & The 88
  9. Dead End Street – Ray Davies & Amy Macdonald
  10. See My Friends Ray Davies & Spoon
  11. This Is Where I Belong – Ray Davies & Black Francis
  12. David Watts – Ray Davies & The 88
  13. Tired Of Waiting – Ray Davies & Gary Lightbody (Snow Patrol)
  14. All Day And All Of The Night/Destroyer – Ray Davies & Billy Corgan
  15. Victoria – Ray Davies & Mando Diao

Ray Davies schreibt auf seiner Homepage:

September 2010: Ray releases „See My Friends“, an album of classic Kinks songs turned into unique collaborations on Universal UK on November 1st. (Europe to be same week, US to follow early next year) There is a new microsite for the album at which will be updated weekly with new information.
On this one of a kind album, Ray collaborates with a formidable selection of artists on tracks from his incredible songwriting career, revisiting his back catalogue and crafting new versions of his classic songs. Everyone from Bruce Springsteen to Metallica features on this diverse collection of material.
Highlights include ‚Days’/’This Time Tomorrow‘ with Mumford & Sons, ‚Better Things‘ with Bruce Springsteen, ‚You Really Got Me‘ with Metallica and ‚A Long Way from Home‘ with Lucinda Williams and Ray’s first choice with the late great Big Star/Boxtops singer Alex Chilton
„This project came about almost by accident,“ says Davies of the project, which was kick-started when he recorded a version of ‚Till The End Of The Day‘ in the summer of 2009, with Alex Chilton.
„With some tracks I had to appreciate the style of the other artists, otherwise it would have sounded unbalanced. And I wanted the album to work as an entire listening experience but each track had a life of its own,“ explains Ray.
Ray was happy to go where the music took him, in every sense: Oslo via Denmark, Germany and Belgium to record with Metallica, New York to record with Jon Bon Jovi, New Jersey for Bruce Springsteen, Chicago for Billy Corgan from Smashing Pumpkins and his own north London base, the legendary KONK studios, for much of the rest. „This record is well-travelled already,“ explains Ray.
Paloma Faith, Jackson Browne, Black Francis of the Pixies, Lucinda Williams, Amy MacDonald and Spoon also feature on the record, which follows Ray’s acclaimed tour of North America and the UK plus a stand out set on Glastonbury’s Pyramid stage this summer. – Quelle

Das Album kann im STONEPONY FANSHOP oder auf AMAZON.DE vorbestellt werden

Mehr Infos:


Feb 24 2010

Ray Davies und Bruce Springsteen im Studio

Bruce Springsteen und John Bon Jovi waren im Januar mit dem „Kinks“ Sänger Ray Davies im Studio, um zwei Tracks für das nächste Studioalbum des Künstlers einzuspielen. Davis versprach, das Album bis zum Jahresende fertigzustellen. Ein Releasedatum ist derzeit nicht bekannt. berichtet:

The Boss spent three hours jamming with Davies, adding some Jersey grit to the 1981 pop anthem „Better Things.“ The two met at one of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame benefits last fall and discussed the possibility of teaming up for a tune.
A. I’m doing a collaborations album, and I’ve already recorded a track with Jon Bon Jovi and he’s from Jersey.
Q. Indeed. What about our other big Jersey icon, Bruce Springsteen?
A. Yeah, I’ve done a track with him too.
… weiterlesen

The Kinks:

Die Kings wurden 1964 in London von den Brüdern Ray und Dave Davies gegründet. Im August des gleichen Jahren gelang ihnen mit „You Really Got Me“ der internationale Durchbruch. Seitdem veröffentlichten die Kinks 25 Studioalben und landeten mit „All Day and All of the Night“, „Tired of Waiting for You“, „Sunny Afternoon“, „Waterloo Sunset“ und „Death of a Clown“ weitere Top-Ten Hits in Europa und den USA.

Mehr Infos:


Okt 31 2009

Rock’n Roll Hall of Fame Concert – U2 & Bruce

Auch am zweiten Abend der „Rock’n Roll Hall of Fame“ Feierlichkeiten im New Yorker Madison Square Garden war Bruce Springsteen mit von der Partie. Beim Auftritt von U2 kam der ‚Boss‘ mit Patti Smith auf die Bühne und gab neben Bono „Because the Night“ und „I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For“ zum Besten.

Setlist vom Freitag:

  1. Great Balls of Fire (Jerry Lee Lewis)
  2. (You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman (Aretha Franklin)
  3. Baby I Love You (Aretha Franklin)
  4. Don’t Play That Song (You Lied) (Aretha Franklin)
  5. Make Them Hear You (Aretha Franklin)
  6. Chain Of Fools (Aretha Franklin mit Annie Lennox)
  7. Theme From „New York, New York“ (Aretha Franklin)
  8. Think (Aretha Franklin mit Lenny Kravitz)
  9. Respect (Aretha Franklin)
  10. Drown In My Own Tears (Jeff Beck)
  11. People Get Ready (Jeff Beck mit Sting)
  12. Freeway Jam (Jeff Beck mit Sting)
  13. Let Me Love You Baby (Jeff Beck mit Buddy Guy)
  14. Big Block (Jeff Beck)
  15. Rice Pudding (Jeff Beck)
  16. Rough Boy (Jeff Beck mit Billy Gibbons)
  17. Foxy Lady (Jeff Beck mit Billy Gibbons)
  18. A Day In the Life (Jeff Beck)
  19. For Whom the Bell Tolls (Metallica)
  20. One (Metallica)
  21. Turn the Page (Metallica)
  22. Sweet Jane (Metallica mit Lou Reed)
  23. White Light/White Heat (Metallica mit Lou Reed)
  24. Iron Man (Metallica mit Ozzy Osbourne)
  25. Paranoid (Metallica mit Ozzy Osbourne)
  26. You Really Got Me (Metallica mit Ray Davies)
  27. All Day and All Of the Night (Metallica mit Ray Davies)
  28. Stone Cold Crazy (Metallica)
  29. Enter Sandman (Metallica)
  30. Vertigo (U2)
  31. Magnificent (U2)
  32. Because the Night (U2 mit Bruce Springsteen, Roy Bittan und Patti Smith)
  33. I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For (U2 mit Bruce Springsteen und Roy Bittyn)
  34. Mysterious Ways, Where Is the Love? (U2 mit Black Eyed Peas)
  35. Gimme Shelter (U2 mit Mick Jagger & Fergie)
  36. Stuck in a Moment You Can’t Get Out Of (U2 mit Mick Jagger)
  37. Beautiful Day (U2)

Mehr Infos: